What a Leader! In Dedication to Timothy M. Murray

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a member of Toastmasters Club – I am privy to hearing inspiring speeches from fellow members.  The speech may be impromptu in a response to a Table Topics challenge or it can one of the Competent Communicator speeches.

Today I was the beneficial recipient of both kinds of inspiration and I am grateful.

I listened to a heartfelt speech #2 from a fellow Toastmaster, Derek. He shared a thoughtful insightful story dedicated to his former boss, Tim M. Murray, whom he worked with at Home Depot and the life lessons he gained from that five year relationship. This boss was a friend, a mentor, a teacher, and more, Tim lived his life with true integrity. Derek shared some of the life, and leadership lessons he learned from Tim.

Today my Club learned about 4 Qualities that make a great leader!

  • PASSION – Always do your best
  • EMPATHY – Listen to both sides and be prepared to listen and hear
  • DEDICATION TO CORE VALUES – not about core exercise, this quality is all about human decency, caring about and supporting others
  • LEADING BY EXAMPLE – not only by words, but actions.

Toastmasters provides an opportunity to learn and develop LEADERSHIP skills in hands-on, safe and supportive atmosphere. If you think Toastmasters is just about giving speeches, then you need to be a guest at a Toastmasters meeting and observe.

Guests are welcome !

Come prepared to laugh, to learn, and to meet inspiring people!

Learn the Laws of Positive Leadership at Toastmasters. 🙂

Toastmasters is fun, challenging, and inspirational and has been so since 1924!

Life is not a ‘Dress Rehearsal” – I was reminded today of what makes an Inspiring Leader, and the importance of sharing the lessons we gain in life and honoring special people in our lives.

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. I try to respond personally to every comment on my blog, and in this way I hope to get to know my readers a little bit and and am able to thank readers for their encouragement on what they liked and suggestions on what they would like to see me try in order to improve.
This entry was posted in FAVORITE POSTS - A Few of them ♥, Toastmasters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Leader! In Dedication to Timothy M. Murray

  1. Luis Jimenez says:

    I´ve been toastmaster for 10 months and I discovered that magic and passion for its essence. Today I´m surprised how this activity could generate contacts with people that will share interesting things like this message of a Toastmaster´s speech. I want to know if it´s available in you tube. I want to watch it!
    Luis Jimenez CC
    Quay Speakers TM

    Like

  2. Pingback: Youtube Inspiration or From Russia With Love | Notes from "A Place to Live Forever"

Leave a comment