Unexpected, welcome, and appreciated

 

coffee shopI have discovered that people are surprised by compliments or expressions of appreciation.

I don’t mean with family, or your closest friends – they aren’t surprised. I mean the people you see regularly, but you don’t know their birthday,  but you aren’t a stranger neither.

The cost is free, the time it takes is negligible to give a sincere compliment but the effect is long lasting.

I worked in an office in Vancouver decades ago, and this event is still remembered. One of my coworkers took the time one day to mention she noticed I took the time to dress well for work (ironed shirts, ties) everyday.  She complimented me on my appearance.  It struck me because the compliment was unexpected but appreciated. I don’t remember her name but I recall how I felt because she took the time to say a few kind words. Unexpected, welcome and appreciated.

After finishing my consultation with my doctor a few years ago, I advised him I had one more thing to talk to him about.  He waited, expecting another medical question. Instead I thanked him sincerely for being my family doctor since 1992, and that I noticed and appreciated how he periodically called me in to review my health situation and proactively took an interest.  My doctor was at a loss for words.  To my surprise, he wasn’t used to being thanked for his caring and professional services. Unexpected, welcome and appreciated.

friendshipA few days ago, I received a compliment from a man who became a friend in recent years., an encouraging supportive friend. The generous compliment resonated to me because it was unexpected, welcome and appreciated.

I can live for two months on a good compliment. – Mark Twain

Kindness starts with how we speak and talk to our fellow humanity – try an experiment. Give a verbal box of chocolates to someone you know but not someone you know really well, someone who gives you good service, but not someone you know as a close friend- observe how it refreshes their day.  Unexpected, welcome and appreciated – but it won’t be forgotten. I guarantee it.

Thank you sincerely to the followers, and visitors of this blog, I enjoy your comments, and visiting your blogs. I appreciate your interest, feedback and encouragement, I really do.

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Thinking Out loud and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Unexpected, welcome, and appreciated

  1. DawnSeeker says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsI love this! And I agree — it’s of no cost to open up and give a smile, a compliment, start a conversation with even a complete stranger. :)) Keep it up! We need more kindness and connectivity these days. Dawn
    https://journalofdawn.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/deep-philosophical-three-minute-conversations/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jennie says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsWell said! The unexpected words of a complement are gold. Great post. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lynn says:

    It is amazing how we can impact people through the simple act of kindness & a few encouraging words. Thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. magarisa says:

    A wonderful reminder that small gestures can mean so much. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. leggypeggy says:

    Even simple compliments go a long way. Sometimes it’s the nicest thing a person hears in a day. And it costs nothing.

    Like

  6. calmkate says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jstotally agree, well written and always nice to get a reminder 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


  7. https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsI’ve started complimenting ladies who come into the produce stand where I work. I’ve experienced the power of being given an unexpected compliment by another woman, so I try and pay it forward. Such a little thing to do, that can have such a powerful impact

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Alberta says:

    I LOVE this blog.

    Like

  9. lisakunk says:

    This is life as it should be. Thanks.

    Like

  10. we don’t have to do something big for each other, just a little bit of kindness, respect, understanding, and love, a bit of each is enough to make it through this world. Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

