Refilling the G Quotient

I have blogged about this before, because it really seems practical and useful. Giving thanks, being grateful, and the G Quotient aka Gratitude Quotient in you life may correspond with how happy you feel.Feeling grateful is a fantastic way to start your day, and that is what happened to me this Tuesday.

wp-image-1453132257jpg.jpg

Morning light on Okanagan Lake

This Tuesday I had the most pleasant morning, at the city hospital and refilled my G Quotient. Allow me to share with you what made this visit special to me. I am a regular at the lab, giving blood and so on and I fast for these blood tests. Hungry me I get there by 7 am so I can “beat the rush” which really means “beat the wait” and have my tests done when the lab opens at 7:30. Other wise souls know how long the wait can be and they sometimes beat me there. That was the case this Tuesday, a gentleman and his wife were already waiting at the lab in front of me at 7 am. I joked how disappointed I was to be 3rd in line and we struck up a conversation. (how bashful I am, I know)

I never found out his name but we ended up discussing transplants. This gentleman had had a double lung transplant and he looked great. He had this huge surgical scar that went up from under one armpit over his chest in a rising half circle and then dropped under the other armpit.  He described as being opened up like a giant clamshell, and then of course they smiled. I was struck by this word picture and then I saw the actual scar in pictures on his phone. He also showed me his old lungs, like a worn out brown men’s wallet, you would never guess it was a lung picture. But like a man proud of his new car, he showed me pictures of his new lungs  just before they went in, what pink beauties they were, and he was driving those now. 🙂

I shook this man’s hand and we smiled. We were survivors. He had refilled my G Quotient and after being poked and swabbed, vials of blood labeled and put away, I sashayed down that hall feeling empty and full. I was empty of food tummywise, but I was full of gratitude for meeting this man.
Feeling a bit down? Take a moment like I do, and count your blessings, having your G tank full makes this life journey pretty darn sweet.

Thanks for reading, and I love it if you follow this blog, and check out past posts, and comments and suggestions are more than welcome. 

 

 

 

 

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Thinking Out loud and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Refilling the G Quotient

  1. Barry says:

    Thank you David, I’m grateful to call you a friend. You’re a courageous man.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ingrid says:

    Thoughtful post – very nice! Good health is something I’m grateful for every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

