The Value of a Friend

It is often said “blood is thicker than water” meaning that family relationships are always more important than friends.

My blood relatives are important to me but I certainly have and do appreciate the many good friends I have had in my life that have been kind and supportive to me especially during the times I was sick or facing trials.

I spoke to my son and daughter when they were growing up about picking good friends, and how to be a good friend. I believe they have seen in my life how I have had special friends and the difference between friends and acquaintances. I have been blessed.

The value of a friend is priceless. They lift up when you need it, and no matter how long between get-togethers – the friendship is not diminished.

To you reader I wish the blessing of good friends, who call you up out of the blue to check on you, who drop in to give you a hug, who include you in prayer without being asked.

Yes, blood is thicker than water, but none of us,  I’m sure, underestimates the inestimable value of a good friend.

Thanks for reading, comments and suggestions always welcome.

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Thinking Out loud and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Value of a Friend

  1. chattykerry says:

    Well, since I am only child, with no children and now an orphan… :), I really value my friends. I bet they will be in the majority at my funeral.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn says:

    I can’t begin to imagine my life without the support of my friends. It’s funny how we count on them for different kinds of friendship, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. spearfruit says:

    Friends can also be people who have never met in person. I consider you a friend David, thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb says:

    Friends hold me together especially since I work so far away from my family members. I am a lot closer to some friends than I am to my family. They are all a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

