Fishing for Something More

I like this post because it shows how we teach our children. I believe always getting what they want is a terrible idea. Thanks for lessons I was taught by my parents, I hope I helped my two wonderful children learn as well. I was blessed with great examples of parenting.

Behind the White Coat

shadow of fisherman in the water with float visible on the water surface

“If you are going to fish you need to learn how to cut a worm in half with your fingernail.” He grabbed my hand and placed a long squirmy pink one into the palm. We had dug it and half a dozen of its siblings up from my grandmother’s flower beds that morning.

Sometimes you have to get your hands dirty.

I squinted up at him in disbelief. “I can’t do that, Grandpa! It’s a worm.” I was five years old, old enough to have a sense of what was really gross and what wasn’t.

There was no way…

“You can always do things you think you can’t.” He said it in such a way that it left no room for argument.

He stood waiting.

I sighed as I tore the slimy thing into two wriggling halves. Brown and yellow colored worm guts were all over my fingers and…

View original post 375 more words

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

