Call Me Skywalker #2

view from cape foul weather I think

To read Call Me Skywalker from the beginning click HERE

 

Stella died a month ago.  Luke’s mind still saw her face easily, picturing her laughing and singing along with the Beatles.  He half smiled, and his eyes twinkled remembering how she always seemed to be singing a song or pieces of a song during the day.

Stella loved to infect him with a melody of song so after he sat with her, laughed with her, the rest of his day had these earworms of pop music popping up.

Luke chuckled, one week she kept singing “Bennie and the Jets” and he walked around singing Bennie, Bennie, Bennie and the Jets all week. He smiled but there was a tear in his eye.

Luke was doing better now.  After the funeral he had felt dazed, his face felt numb and it almost seemed like he had his face pressed against a window looking in on the world because he felt detached.

Today it was a month.  Stella had given him a letter only to be opened after a month after her death. Luke turned the envelope over in his hand, her handwriting on the outside, his name, and a little smiley face. Oh how he missed her laugh, her song snippets. His lungs felt parched, and his throat dry. Time to open it.

Dear Skywalker, thank you for all the loving and laughter you gave me. (Luke nodded, his eyes were watering, his inner voice – thank you, thank you)  I have flown the coop just like we expected and I know the last month has been difficult because you are so wonderful.  There are times we need to hold on (just like the Dan Hill song remember?)  and times to let loose and set free.  I know you will be alright. My daughter was deployed and she will be upset she could not be there when I was in the hospice.  Will you there be there for me with her?  Sophie is a beautiful girl and I didn’t want to be in her way when she told me of her submarine assignment. Be there for me please, Share the laughter we had together the last months with Sophie,  hold her hand like you held mine.

always hugs, Stella

Paper in hand, envelope torn on the floor, he sat still and reread the note. Sophie.  I can be there for her for Stella. Poor Sophie, coming home and her Mom gone. The address is there, and I will go there and put a note in her mailbox to contact me about her Mom. I don’t know what to say but I will do it.

Luke on assignment felt better and a Beatles snippet came in his mind as he wrote his note to Sophie for delivery and sealed it in an envelope.

Bright are the stars that shine
Dark is the sky
I know this love of mine
Will never die
And I love her

 

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Call me skywalker short story in blog instalments, Some of my favorite posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Call Me Skywalker #2

  1. Dalo 2013 says:

    A continuation of a story full of the little things in life, which only looking back do we see how important and huge they are to building and living a great life ~ and I also love the musical references 🙂 Had me singing Bennie & the Jets for awhile, until signing off with one of my favorite Beatles tunes… You’ve got the talent with words to bring people to another state – Cheers to a great day ahead.

    Like

  2. This is a sweet sharing…of happiness and sorrow… 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Call me Skywalker | Life and Random Thinking

  4. Zoya Kubra says:

    A beautiful tale- read both posts. I love your style; especially the originality of your similes and the way each character is depicted. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

