A Day Unplugged (How I Banned Myself from Facebook and Didn’t Die)

This is a neat idea, we are creatures of reflex it seems so we can’t stop ourselves. Like to read and never seem to have the time, hmmm where did the time go?

Pinstripes&Lipgloss

As I mentioned in my post about End-of-Semester Resolutions, one of the things that’s been bothering me lately has been my growing dependence on my technology. I love Snapchat, Facebook, Twitter, and Bloglovin’, but sometimes enough is enough.

I had to use my computer for homework yesterday, so I downloaded this app called Self Control. It’s free for Mac and it blocks your web access to any sites you put on the “blacklist” for a period of time that you choose. With Self Control (due to a lack thereof) and my phone safely tucked away in a desk drawer, I went about my day.

12:02pm – Set Self-Control app blacklist: Facebook, my blog, and Bloglovin’. Set time for six hours.
12:07pm – Already stuck on problem one of homework.
12:08pm – Try to open Facebook as a reflex. Realize how automatic that was. Scary.
12:12pm – Again stuck on…

View original post 371 more words

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

