Self Imposed Barriers

Cliff jumping in Cyprus

Cliff jumping in Cyprus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is it about self-imposed barriers? We do it all the time, afraid to talk in front of groups,  not trying something (for me it’s dancing) because we’re not good at it; so we say we don’t want to do it.

I think when we ignore those barriers, we look at ourselves and wonder why we held ourselves back,  back from achievement, back from fun, back from new experiences.

I know I hold myself back but gradually with more awareness I am willing to accept risk, willing to dare new situations, and possibilities.

I enjoy Toastmasters for many reasons, including the fact that I get to practice the art of overcoming barriers. The barriers  of public speaking, sharing your opinion, the barrier of taking a leadership role, the barrier of daring unknown situations.

Do yourself a favor – tear down one of your barriers, and then follow with another, and another.

Live the one life you have, …..without the barriers.

 

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in Thinking Out loud, Toastmasters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

