For A better life, take time to Play

I like to read and so life is balance of updating this blog, reading library books, spending time with family, playing games and always there are the chores of regular life, and maintaining a home.

Click to visit the original post

I suspect that some people think that time spent relaxing, reading a book, playing tennis etc is a waste of time. I think not. I think that if all I did was relax, and play then I would be living an unbalanced life.  I try to keep a balance of work and play.

Besides working, we need to do those things that give us enjoyment, including spending time playing games, cherishing and supporting those family closest to us and also maintaining those important friendships with friends.

It is not an easy balancing act and that is why people lose contact and friendships diminish, and health sours.

This is why I miss updating this blog for days and occasionally even weeks. It is balancing my life that takes me away. Always I find myself wanting to spend my free time being useful and beneficial and that includes time spent winding down, and occasionally just picking up the phone and calling someone I care about who I haven’t seen for years.

I am sure that you lead a life of balancing also ~ but don’t belittle those who seem to accomplish less. For example those parents who spend time playing video games are not wasting time at all. Studies have shown those parents who play video games with their kids have a stronger relationship with their children, and that is a big plus.

I consider my wife, daughter and son my greatest treasures so it is natural that they were my priority and continue to be so as I count my blessings. It has never been a waste of time playing crib, monopoly, or watching a movie with them.  In fact I have gone back to work after Christmas break thinking the best part of my Christmas was the gift of playing monopoly, and crokinole with my family. I will forget the gift of things, but never the gift of time spent with my family playing games. 

When game designer Jane McGonigal found herself bedridden and suicidal following a severe concussion, she had a fascinating idea for how to get better. She dove into the scientific research and created the healing game, SuperBetter. In this moving talk, McGonigal explains how a game can boost resilience — and promises to add 7.5 minutes to your life.

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in reading / books, Thinking Out loud and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

