Classic but true

I remember my grandma (Baba) teaching me manners when I was just 5 or 6. She took me to a hotel in Kindersley, Saskatchewan and bought me a cola. I think it was 5 cents. I couldn’t drink it until I said thank-you. She told me, and taught me to remember my manners, always please and thank you.

Baba was right and even for the simplest things, I remember my manners.

My parents and Grandparents taught through their actions. Family was important, and actions speak louder than words.

We never ate in front of a television, my parents taught me to try new things and do it myself. I made kites from balsa wood and newspaper. I used to play “Battleship” with my Dad and I drew 10×10 tables so we could call out the grid numbers for our “bombs”.

I hope I have done some things right teaching Classics I was taught about living and respecting others so my Baba is proud.

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in music related, Thinking Out loud and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Classic but true

  1. Ian d'Ottawa says:

    Hello Dave,
    I like these little vignettes into who you are and the nice things you see through your eyes. It is not my gift to do the same but hope that I pass the same messages to those around me in a different manner. You keep blogging and I will keep cooking and painting.

    thanks Kemosabee

    Like

Leave a Reply

