Words to live by

SCD – Stay Calm Dad is a cute story. How proud her Dad must have been that his 5 year old girl took over for him. Funny the differences between the sexes so evident even at 5 years old. Funny the things we say that our friends and family pick up on. This little girl keeps saying “So far so Good“.

A co-worker I know always says “It could be worse“, I wonder if her daughters say that?

Is there a saying you picked up from your parents or grandparents? Have you caught someone in your family repeating something you say?

When we travelled to Turkey we learned as much as we could of their customs. The turkish family we knew were fabulously warm hosts, we learned that when they get together with friends they will provide refreshments. The refreshments could be tea, or apple juice, lion’s milk (an alcohol which mixed with milk turns cloudy) or coffee. Together with the liquid refreshment – they would serve sweets (pastries, puddings or fruit desserts).  The philosophy in Turkey – Eat sweets, talk sweetly.

WORDS TO LIVE BY – Eat Sweet, Talk Sweet.

What a nice custom and I am sure it works.  Mashallah. [you can research that word yourself :-)]

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. Enjoy my second experiment with blogging. thanks.
This entry was posted in family, Some of my favorite posts, Thinking Out loud, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words to live by

  1. Ian d'Ottawa says:

    Dave all I can say about your blog is ‘so far so good’. I can’t say anything more right now because I am in my jammies and need to get dressed for work. I can’t go to work in my jammies. So far so good Dave, keep blogging. Gotta go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

