Hug a Tree, Sing a Song, Put a smile on your face

Hippies

Hippies (Photo credit: efedefoto)

A song by Tommy JamesDraggin the Line went #4 in 1971. I would have been in grade 7, a good year as I went to school in East Vancouver, and lived life completely carefree I am sure. After all I was only 12, I grin thinking how many people will calculate to themselves and say “I wasn’t even born yet!”  You missed the 70’s and the music was groovy (smile).

The song Draggin the Line  I understand gives tribute to the majority of us who get up everyday and do our jobs and whatever we do for a living we do it with a good attitude.  Hard not admire that, and I am convinced those people that put a smile on their face and in their voices each day are happier, make others happier, and people respond positively to them.  A multiplier effect !

People always talk about negative energy but positive energy and attitude is awesome.  I took a course once and the instructor said that the outcome of most phone calls was determined by the way a person answered the phone – that ‘s how important the first impression is.

I watched someone working the front line at McDonalds the other day and he was amazing, amazing with his smile, and welcoming to everyone.  It was busy too but everyone was patient, and he would thank them for being patient – his sincerity doing his job shone. I was so impressed.  I was happy to compliment him on the way he did his work.  Fabulous!

Hug a tree everyday,…. sing a song that makes you happy, …..give an unexpected compliment, watch the effect that us people have while we DRAG THE LINE, …Amazing!

LYRICS: Makin’ a living the old hard way
Takin’ and giving day by day
I dig snow and rain and bright sunshine
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

My dog Sam eats purple flowers
We ain’t got much but what we got’s ours
We dig snow and rain and bright sunshine
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

I feel fine
I’m talkin’ bout peace of mind
I’m gonna take my time
I’m gettin’ the good sign
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

Loving the free and feelin’ spirit
Of huggin’ a tree when you get near it
Diggin’ the snow and the rain and bright sunshine
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

I feel fine
I’m talkin’ bout peace of mind
I’m gonna take my time
I’m gettin’ the good sign
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

La la la la la la la la
Draggin’ the line (draggin’ the line)

Thank you so much for a few minutes of your day checking out my blog. When I check my site stats and see visitors, and more people subscribed, it brightens my day and inspires me.  Some of the blogs in my favorite posts category you might like also. Take care! 

About dfolstad58

I live in the South Okanagan. BC. I enjoy reading, exercise, toastmasters. spending time with my son, my daughter, & her husband , and my patient wife. I try to respond personally to every comment on my blog, and in this way I hope to get to know my readers a little bit and and am able to thank readers for their encouragement on what they liked and suggestions on what they would like to see me try in order to improve.
This entry was posted in music related, Thinking Out loud and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment